Baked Oatmeal Recipe

In my quest to be a Gluten Free I ran across some problems at breakfast. If I go somewhere and sit down I’m okay, eggs and potatoes will do, but what about my jaunt into the local coffee shop? No muffins, bagels, croissants or biscotti for me.

Recently I went to my local coffee shop St. Thomas Roasters and they had Baked Oatmeal. I asked about the recipe and it was gluten free, yay! Their oatmeal was very simple, just some brown sugar. As I sat there I couldn’t help thinking of all the better things I could put into my own baked oatmeal… so I did!  I made my first attempt with peaches, and it was good but it needed a bit of tweaking. Here is the recipe I used for my second (and very successful attempt).

Baked Oatmeal with Blueberries and Bananas

Baked Oatmeal IngredientsDry Ingredients

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1.5 teaspoons cinnamon
  • a dash of salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar

Liquid Ingredients

  • 2 cups milk ( I used Organic Fat Free)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon agave syrup (or maple syrup). If you don’t have agave, add more brown sugar.
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter, slightly cooled

The Add-Ins
You can use whatever fresh fruits, dried fruits, or nuts that you like. Here is what I used:

  • 2 fresh Bananas, sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh Blueberries
  • Grated peel of one small Lemon
  • Juice of 1/4 lemon wedge.

Preheat your oven to 375. Butter an 8×8 pan and set it aside.
Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

Dry Ingredients

Combine all the liquid ingredients, leaving 1/2 the butter in the dish. Mix them with a whisk and set the bowl aside.

Wet Ingredients

Mix your Add-Ins together in a small bowl.

Diced Bananas and Blueberries

Next, add the fruit mixture to the dry ingredients and combine. Then move them into the buttered baking dish.

Mixed Fruit and Oats 2

Pour the liquid mixture over the oat mixture. Use your spoon or scraper to gently move the liquid around, making sure all the oats are covered.

Ready to Bake

Next I took 1/3 cup of crushed almonds and spread them over the top, then drizzled the rest of the melted butter over the top.

Put in the oven and bake 35-45 minutes. Let it cool a bit and enjoy!

Baked Close Up - Copy

I usually cut mine into 9 pieces. Each piece will have around 200 calories depending on what you add and how much sugar you use. In the fridge it will keep about a week, I like to warm my piece in the microwave and drizzle a little milk on it. If you make your own version, please let us know what delicious combos you’ve tried!

~ Bailey

One thought on “Baked Oatmeal Recipe

  1. This is a great recipe! However, if you are trying to be gluten free you can’t just buy any oatmeal at the store. Most store bought oatmeal has been cross-contaminated with gluten items. If you want to be completely gluten free some great gluten free oats are from Red Mill and GF Harvest. You always have to double check ingredients and make sure it was not produced in a facility with wheat to be completely gluten free!

Leave a Reply

