Restaurant Review: smoke BBQ in Harrisburg, PA

Every month, a group of us check out a different BYOB restaurant in Central PA – it’s a blast! Last month we hit up smoke BBQ, a recently opened purveyor of hickory smoked goodness!

The atmosphere is inside is laid-back and welcoming, and the decor is the perfect blend of modern and rustic. The menu was had a lot more options than you might expect from a barbeque restaurant, with a number of options for people who aren’t meat-eaters. The small plate options – while still inspired by traditional BBQ fare – felt more upscale (think bacon-wrapped dates, smoked gouda mac&cheese, pork belly).

Comeback Special Tacos


House Salad Bailey’s Take!
The thing that I like the most about smoke BBQ is how unique it is. Lately a lot of BBQ places have opened up in this area, and they are all similar. smoke BBQ, however, has an artisan flare that I appreciate. From their use of local ingredients to the real sugar soda in the fountain. On our trip to smoke I shared two delicious appetizers, homemade mini corn dogs with honey and mustard and the jalapeno-bacon glazed pork belly. For my main course I regained my (mostly) gluten-free bearings and had the large house salad. It is topped with roasted peppers, tomatoes, and the coup de grace: A cornmeal crusted crispy goat cheese ball. I like any excuse to eat goat cheese and this is a good one. My salad was also topped with smoked chicken and an amazing smoked tomato vinaigrette. I could eat this salad any day!

Megan’s Take!Boss Dawg with Slaw
Mmmm….BBQ. Nothing screams comfort food like a big ol’ pulled pork sandwich. Add some bacon, grilled onions, cheddar, slaw, and a bacon + chile reduction? I’m in heaven! The culinary masterpiece of which I speak is the Boss Dawg! The flavors in this sandwich layered beautifully, I was very impressed! I also tried the Animal Fries, which were smothered with aged cheddar, fried onions, bacon, and BBQ – they were also delicious!

The portions size of most of the small plates were perfect to whet your appetite without filling you up. The sandwiches were HUGE, so I was a little too stuffed to try dessert this time around… just means I’ll have to go back to try more!

You can find more information about all the deliciousness that smoke has to offer by visiting http://www.hickorysmokedgoodness.com/

Leave a Reply

