Tortellini with Kielbasa and Edamame

I don’t know about all of you, but I am a BIG fan of quick & easy weeknight dinners… especially if they are healthy… and even more so if they don’t taste like a quick & easy dinner (no offense, EasyMac!).

I like to have some basic recipes that I can improvise and change depending on what ingredients I have around. One of my favorites is Tortellini with Kielbasa and Edamame! I use this recipe as a base, and I like that I can use any kind of sausage, swap the tortellini out for gnocchi, switch up the pepper, or add another veggie. The only ingredient I really need to make this dish is edamame… prompting my husband to dub this dish “Edamame Surprise!”

Photo 2013-05-17 11.18.12 AMThis time I used the following ingredients:

– One package of refrigerated Tortellini (tri-colored!)
– One Kielbasa
– One bag of frozen, shelled Edamame
– One Orange Pepper
– Olive Oil
– Minced Garlic (I usually prefer fresh, but prepared works in a pinch!)
– Italian Dressing

Start by boiling salted water for the tortellini. While you are waiting for the water to boil, heat olive oil and minced garlic in a pan. Use as much garlic as you want – I’m a garlic-loving gal, so I use a heaping tablespoon, but I won’t judge if you’re more of the scant teaspoon type.

As the oil and garlic is heating, cut the sausage into buttons and add to the pan. Next, cut up the pepper and add that to the pan. Cook all until the sausage is browned and the pepper is softened.

Photo 2013-05-17 11.18.32 AM Photo 2013-05-17 11.18.52 AM Photo 2013-05-17 11.19.13 AM

By the time you add the peppers to the pan, your water should be boiling. Add the tortellini and cook until almost tender, then add the frozen edamame. Bring the water back to a boil for about 2 minutes, then remove from heat and drain.

Photo 2013-05-17 11.19.58 AMRemove the sausage and the peppers from heat and mix wit the drained edamame and tortellini. Add some Italian dressing, toss to coat, and there you have it! An easy weeknight dinner in under 15 minutes!

I hope you enjoy this dish – I’d love to hear how you adapt recipes for quick & easy dinners!

Happy Cooking,
Megan

One thought on “Tortellini with Kielbasa and Edamame

Leave a Reply

